This story from the September 1994 OSCAR by David Bouse notes some of the similarities along the Rideau River over the many years of settlement in Ottawa South. An 1830 watercolour by artist James Pattison Cockburn inspires some comparisons.
In an effort to eliminate similar sounding or duplicate names, the City of Ottawa is changing some familiar streets. Bronson Place has been renamed Canal Woods Terrace.
As we celebrate the start of 2011, a look back at people, places and events of a century ago will give us a broader view of our progress.
Let’s start with “who”. The 1911 Census says 1,485 people were living in Ottawa South. There were 314 households, consisting of 280 married couples, 40 widows, and 20 widowers (but no divorcees). By comparison, Ottawa as a whole had a population of 90,520.
The Ottawa South History Project is pleased to announce the publication of Exploring the Built Heritage of Ottawa South.
Published in partnership with Heritage Ottawa, the book encompasses an overview of the history of Old Ottawa South and presents the designated heritage properties in the neighbourhood, along with the property profiles and streetscapes developed in the summer of 2009.
Online sales are available through Heritage Ottawa. The book is also available in selected local bookstores such as Octopus Books in the Glebe, Books on Beechwood in New Edinburgh, Perfect Books in Centretown, and Black Squirrel Books in Old Ottawa South.
Ask anyone who lives in Old Ottawa South and they are sure to say we live in the best darn neighborhood in Ottawa. Our unique homes, shops, school, community and recreation facilities, and natural features, all make our community a very attractive place to live. But, if you could travel back in time 100 years, what would you see? A charming, quiet rural community of farms, dirt roads, and a few shops and homes. Incredible changes have taken pace within a very short time. How did all these changes come about? What traces of the “old” Ottawa South can still be seen today?
Originally published in the December 2011 OSCAR.
The recent Home for the Holidays house tour highlighted, amongst others, a beautiful nearly century-old house with river stone walls at 720 Echo Drive. The lot upon which this house is build was originally part of an estate owned by George Hay, a successful 19th century hardware store owner who later became president of the Bank of Ottawa. His house, a designated heritage building from the 19th century, still stands at 700 Echo Drive.