Old Ottawa South Community Association

Save the Local Planning Appeal Support Centre

Ottawa residents are organizing to save a government agency set up to help citizens fight big developers at the Ontario Municipal Board.

The Ontario government set up the Local Planning Appeal Support Centre in 2018 to help residents navigate bureaucracy and legislation involved in appealing municipal zoning decisions at the Ontario Municipal Board.
In its nine month existence, it handled 570 requests from 168 different communities about zoning appeal issues.
Then, on February 21, without fanfare or even a formal announcement, Ontario Attorney General Caroline Mulroney told the centre’s director that she and her staff were being let go.
“This action dealt a blow to citizens across the province who may not be able to exercise their rights effectively without the advice [the centre was] set up to provide,” said Paul Johanis, chair of the Greenspace Alliance of Canada’s Capital.
The Greenspace Alliance has set up an online petition to urge the Attorney General to reinstate the centre’s staff and keep the LPA Support Centre open.

Minutes - SWOOS Meeting November 21, 2018

Senior Watch Old Ottawa South (SWOOS)
Committee Meeting November 21, 2018 7pm Firehall
Chair: Barbara Brown

Members: Anna Cuylits, Barbara Brown, Catherine Read, Christine Franklin, Niki Divito
Regrets: Fran Mowbray, Maura Giuliani, Helen Lynn,Tracey Morey, Carina Bleuer
Guests: Bryden Denyes, Richard Slowikowski, Colton Parsons

1. Guests were introduced and welcomed. Bryden Denyes is area manager with the City's Road Services, responsible for winter maintenance for Old Ottawa South (OOS). Richard Slowikowski is board President of the Old Ottawa South Community Association (OSCA). Colton Parson is a new OOS resident and father of a young child.
2. Agenda was approved following agreement that item 4 concerning winter walkability would be addressed first.

Minutes - SWOOS Meeting Dec. 19, 2018

Meeting December 19, 2018 - hosted by Fran Mowbray!

Chair: Barbara Brown

Present: Barbara Brown, Anna Cuylits, Christine Franklin, Fran Mowbray

Regrets: Maura Giuliani, Helen Lynn, Catherine Reid

(Temporarily) resigned: Carina Bleuer

1. Agenda approved

2. Minutes approved

It was recognised that SWOOS minutes are detailed, but could not be more concise, because of the information they provide.

Action Items

Subscribe to this RSS feed

Contact us